Angel – HER (EP Review)

angel-singer

I ain’t into wishing, use my intuition/listen I got different kinda vision/I make my decisions based on my position

It would not be an exaggeration on my part if I referred to Angel as a household name here in the UK.  I used to watch his SBTV freestyles and while I wasn’t the biggest fan of his music, I could see the potential in him. After he signed his deal with Island Records, he then went commercial with singles like the hit “Wonderful” and “Time After Time”  among others. He’s performed at both the MOBO Awards and Wireless Festival, and his debut album “About Time” reached the Top 40 in the Official UK Charts.

“I learnt a lot from it (first album experience) but I felt like it was a more compromising stage of my life ”

After disappearing for a while he then released the mixtape “Possession With Intent” in 2014 which was the moment I thought “FINALLY”. It was everything you could ask for from a UK R&B artist and was widely slept on, however it felt like Angel had returned to his R&B roots. The eight track mixtape featured the likes of Stormzy, Wretch 32, Sneakbo and Sonna Rele as well as overseas artists Eric Bellinger and Burna Boy (with superstar Jeremih and Dappy on a remix) without ever feeling overcrowded or forced.

This new R&B focused Angel seems to be here to stay, as after two years he returned in 2016 with the singles “Rude Boy”and “Hop On” (which samples Keith Sweat’s “Get Up on It”) which not only stays in the R&B lane but also blend 90’s bangers within the production (Angel not only writes his own music but produces the majority of it too). With his sophomore album “WOMAN” already announced, the two aforementioned singles were building up to the release of his EP “HER” which almost acts as a prelude to the album and if this is what we get on the EP, I can only imagine what he has in store for the album.

The EP consists of six tracks, beginning with the Rich Homie Quan assisted “Fvxk with You” which we can be expecting a video for soon. What makes this track so special is that, similar to what Krept & Konan did with their album last year, the feature doesn’t feel forced or out of place but completely organic. Angel matches the star power of Quan and starts off the EP in an exciting way,  with the production of the track being handled by Harmony Samuels (legend in my eyes) who samples “Don’t Walk Away” by 90’s girl group Jade.

Starting as he means to go on, the next track was one Angel had to fight hard to get on the EP, fan favourite “Thelma & Louise” which is then followed by “Me & You”. The EP showcases his immense vocal ability, witty wordplay and production arrangement with the crooner experimenting with different flows and harmonies throughout and keeping with the throwback 90’s vibe (including plenty of references and samples!). The last three tracks are “Tongue Song” which the Shepherd’s Bush native leaked over the summer, before ending with the two singles which feature Haile from WSTRN and Stefflon Don.

In the two years he’s been away from music in the public eye, a lot has been going on behind the scenes. He’s signed with Motown Records in the US and has a close relationship with legendary producer Swizz Beats, which has enabled him to meet artists such as Brandy and James Fauntelroy and teased a meeting with Chris Brown. More recently he has put videos on his instagram of him hanging out with Kehlani so that’s something for fans to look forward to.

I’m down like I’m s’posed to/ Girl you got me up like a poster

R&B is definitely under appreciated in the UK with the majority of  fans and mainstream publications sadly preferring to champion and support US artists over our own homegrown talent. But with American artists taking a shine to our urban scene, and the organic relationships being formed between artists, hopes are high, at least for me that someone as multi-talented and humble as Angel will do what many before him have failed to do and create a fanbase over in the states without having to compromise or change his artistry.

Follow Angel and myself on Twitter: @AMB1SH  @thisisangel

Angel was one of the artists I included in my “R&B Renaissance Trilogy” which you can read via the links below:

 


LAST POSTS:

– 5 Movies To Look Out For in 2017: http://wp.me/p48gyj-iV

-5 Reasons We Need A BBK Compilation Album:http://wp.me/p48gyj-hY

-Bonkaz – Working Under Pressure (EP Review): http://wp.me/p48gyj-hH

– Chip – Power Up (Review):   http://wp.me/p48gyj-hy

-10 Must See Summer Movies of 2016: http://wp.me/p48gyj-bU

 

  • Check out my INTERVIEWS with:

Knucks – http://wp.me/p48gyj-if , DC – http://wp.me/p48gyj-9J  ,

Nehmy – http://wp.me/p48gyj-bi ,                Yxng Bane – http://wp.me/p48gyj-b0

 

Leave a Reply

